Posted by: chuckbumgardner | October 3, 2010

Jubilate Deo

Along with my deep interest in the New Testament, and particularly the cultural background of the New Testament, I enjoy sacred music a great deal, particularly in the context of the local church.  I’ve posted a number of items in the latter category in Orchard Keeper, but I’ve decided to migrate that sort of post over to a new blog, Jubilate Deo.  At the present time, I’m leading songs in our church on a consistent basis, which is causing me to  give more attention to Christian hymnody.

I’m sure I’ll be cross-posting items, particularly as they relate to worship and music in the New Testament and/or the early church, but observations and recommendations regarding Christian hymnody will now find their home at Jubilate Deo.  I aim in the blog to introduce new hymn texts I write or come across, to explore questions of musical practice in the church, to parse hymns, and so forth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

