Posted by: chuckbumgardner | June 1, 2009

Jesus, Priceless Treasure

My wife and I sang this song yesterday in our morning service.  An excellent text by Johann Franck, and translated by the incomparable Catherine Winkworth.

“Jesus, Priceless Treasure”

Jesus, priceless treasure, fount of purest pleasure,
truest Friend to me:
Ah, how long in anguish shall my spirit languish,
yearning, Lord, for thee?
Thine I am, O spotless Lamb!
I will suffer naught to hide thee,
Naught I ask beside thee.

In thine arms I rest me; foes who would molest me
cannot reach me here.
Though the earth be shaking, ev’ry heart be quaking,
Jesus calms my fear.
Lightnings flash and thunders crash;
Yet, though sin and hell assail me,
Jesus will not fail me.

Satan, I defy thee; death, I now decry thee;
fear, I bid thee cease.
World, thou shalt not harm me nor thy threats alarm me
while I sing of peace.
God’s great pow’r guards ev’ry hour;
Earth and all its depths adore him,
Silent bow before him.

Hence with earthly treasure! Thou art all my pleasure,
Jesus, all my choice.
Hence, thou empty glory! Naught to me thy story
told with tempting voice.
Pain or loss or shame or cross
Shall not from my Savior move me,
Since he deigns to love me.

Hence, all fear and sadness! For the Lord of gladness,
Jesus, enters in.
Those who love the Father, though the storms may gather,
Still have peace within.
Yea, whate’er I here must bear,
Thou art my still my purest pleasure,
Jesus, priceless treasure.

Responses

  1. Most assuredly Jesus Christ is Our priceless treasure!

    I hope that you can also gain some enjoyment from these pictures.

    http://www.jesusclick.net/blogs/jesus-liebt-dich

    God bless you Josef

  2. May God continue to abundantly bless you Charles and Megan and all of your five precious children.

    I’ve got another picture site to tell you about.
    It can be viewed at http://www.jesusclick.net/blogs/freude

    I’ll soon provide a translation into English of all the images, so that your interest in viewing them can increase!

    Until I write again soon, may God continue to pour blessing after blessing on you all.

    Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. Psalm 119:11

  3. Yes, dearest readers of these lines, such is the perfection of the love of God that He gives His very best graciously to all to us!

    Such is the perfect of all-wise love of God, that He keeps on gently knocking on our heart’s door, even when we robustly avoid knocking on His welcoming door.

    Searchers for God’s best, if you’re feeling burnt out, exhausted and lonely. If you’re feeling hurt and wronged. If you have no more strength and your load is becoming too heavy.

    Say yes to the risen Jesus of Nazareth, your best Friend and Teacher. Say yes to Lord Jesus, even if you can hardly muster an audible whisper.

    Be mightily encouraged, for even in the midst of your suffering you can wholeheartedly thank Him, praise Him and offer worship unto Him.

    Honest seekers for truth, right now it is the time to truly count your blessings, for it is God who is giving you the power and strength to open your eyes, stand up, breathe, walk, see – and read and study, with rapt concentration and attention, the Holy Bible.

    And precisely at the right moment when you’re most ready, He will send people your way, so that you can understand and appreciate God’s greatly treasured Beloved, Jesus Christ, even more fully.

    May God Triune, the unique God of the Holy Bible, bless you with a new, deeply grateful and loyal heart, so that you can treasure, full of wholesome
    delight, His sacred writings.

    To God be the glory eternally.

  4. Yes, dearest readers of these lines, such is the perfection of the love of God that He gives His very best graciously to all of us!

    Such is the perfect all-wise love of God, that He keeps on gently knocking on our heart’s door, even when we robustly avoid knocking on His welcoming door.

    Jesus is truly Our priceless treasure!


Leave a Reply

Categories

