Posted by: chuckbumgardner | January 17, 2009

The Rope Around the High Priest’s Ankle

I have heard a number of times the assertion that the high priest wore a rope around his ankle when he went into the Holy of Holies on the Day of Atonement so that if he died while there, he could be removed without anyone else having to enter that sacred space.  In fact, one of my children just a few days ago asked about that practice, and I affirmed that I had heard that several times.

Unfortunately, it does not seem to have a basis in fact.  I appreciated Todd Bolen’s recent post debunking this “urban legend”. (Which article I will duly show my children, as a tangible reminder of their father’s gullibility!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

